on this blog’s title

I’ve moved around a lot. I was born and raised in Calgary, did my undergraduate degree in Montreal, and moved to Winnipeg in 2008 to pursue a graduate degree. “Winnipeg?” people asked, “Why Winnipeg?”, thinking it was a step down from the more metropolitan places I’d lived before.

I had my own doubts about Winnipeg, but in my 3 1/2 years in this city, have come to love it. It’s not shiny and new like Calgary which can tear down and build things up over and over. It doesn’t have the architecture, beautiful people and hipster cred of a city like Montreal, but it has a run-down charm, modest people, and an arts scene that I think would rival any larger city.

Winnipeg feels like home.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

