Books: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

 I know, I know. How can I have a Master’s in English and never have read this classic? It’s been on my list of books to read for years and I decided to finally go for it.

A rag-to-riches story that follows the titular heroine from mistreated orphan to happily-ever-after. Told in the flowery language that is common of the time, it’s lovely, but by about page 400, I was ready for it to wrap up.

Did you know Jean Rhys wrote a prequel to Jane Eyre? This book may now be crossed off my list, but Rhys’ Wide Sargasso Sea, has been added.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

