Books: The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

I’m pretty late to the game on this one. When I was in Vietnam way back in 2006, a girl I was traveling with was reading this and told me I must read it too.

I spent a good part of this book confused, but I guess it was enjoyable enough that I kept reading. I would think “Why am I not getting this? This is a bestseller; millions of people have read this book and I got it. Maybe I missed something? Maybe I’ve been reading it too fast?”

Sure enough, it eventually made sense.

I guess that’s what happens when you have a book about time travel. The titular time traveler’s wife, Clare, meets her husband, Henry, for the first time when she’s six. Henry, however, doesn’t meet her until he’s twenty-eight. It makes sense, eventually.

A nice, original love story, though I imagine it would be better on a re-read.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

