Library Haul and Long-Weekend Plans

Every once in a while, I go through a book rut, where I think, “that’s it. I’ve read every good book there is.” I was going through one of those ruts until I went to the library today and came home with four novels. I checked out:

  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. This book was recommended to me a long time ago. I started it this afternoon and am quite enjoying it.
  • Rabbit, Run by John Updike. A modern classic that I’ve been meaning to read.
  • The Girl Who Played With Fire by Steig Larson. While not exactly high art, I read the first in this series and it was quick and easy and entertaining.
  • The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. Another in the pop literature category, but it caught my eye.

It is a long weekend across Canada and the boyfriend and I are starting it off right. Tonight, we’re going to a show at the Lo Pub. It’s a fundraiser for the University of Winnipeg’s radio station, CKUW, and features one of my favourite local bands, Cannon Bros, plus Haunter, Nova (featuring local heart throb Greg MacPherson), and Slow Dancers.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Library Haul and Long-Weekend Plans

  1. S.Z. Williams says:

    A library haul! What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

