A Tale of Two Moisturizers

photo copy 4

Over the last year or so, I’ve been trying to be more conscious of the ingredients in my skin care, hair products, and make-up. One of the first products I’ve focused on is face sunscreen as this is something I use everyday and is intended to absorb into the skin. 

  • My first foray into natural sunscreen was the John Masters Suncare SPF 30 Natural Mineral Sunscreen. This was highly recommended by the authors of No More Dirty Looks, the book that started my interest in natural or green products. I am not a fan. It is extremely thick so does not spread well and I required a good amount to cover my entire face. I also found that this sunscreen does not sink in and left my skin looking greasy. Further, near the end of the day, this sunscreen would collect in certain areas of my face so I would be left with small white marks on my forehead.
  • I picked up Devita Solar Protective Moisturizer SPF 30 at the recommendation of one of my favourite natural beauty blog/vloggers, Ecoholic Beauty. I have just started using this, but already, it is miles ahead of the John Masters sunscreen. It is thin so I only require a small amount to cover my face and it applies beautifully and fully absorbs leaving my skin matte. It holds up all day and wears well.

(If you’d like to pick up your own bottle of the Devita sunscreen, please feel free to use my iherb code – QZC051 – to save on your order.)

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

