How to Be Happy in One Easy Step

photo copy

You’ve probably seen that meme going around Facebook where, for a week, individuals are postings things they feel grateful for.

Gratitude seems to be popping up a lot these days. I keep hearing over and over again how voicing your gratitude can actually make you happier.

Then I read s a recent Metafilter thread on how to cultivate a better relationship with your partner, and a commenter had this to say:

My husband and I end each day doing what we call “What did you like today”. What happens is that at the end of the day when we go to bed we snuggle together, and we each take turns listing off everything we liked that day.”

This appealed to me as a more individual, private, and specific version of the meme and I instituted it at home. It’s a great way for my husband and I to learn about the highlights of each other’s day and it’s nice to fall asleep with these happy thoughts floating in my brain. Will it make us happier? Perhaps. But for now, it’s a nice little bedtime ritual just for the two of us.

Do you practice any form of gratitude?

Tagged

One thought on “How to Be Happy in One Easy Step

  1. libys11 says:

    this is a good idea! i normally get my reflections when I’m taking a bath in the morning. funny, but true. 🙂

    btw, the oh doughnuts you’ve asked about in my blog? on weekdays they are available starting at 7am and one of the girls in Parlour told me that by 10-11am, they’re sold out already. if that’s a bit early, on Saturdays, Parlour opens later (9am), maybe you can grab some then? 🙂 happy doughnut hunting! 😀

    Animated Confessions

Leave a Reply

