Bits and Bobs (and a Giant Bug)

photo copy 2

Can you believe that bug? I should have put something beside it to gauge it’s size, but it was at least two inches. I found it outside of the mall on Thanksgiving and some Googling revealed it to be a giant water bug. I had no idea bugs of that magnitude existed in Canada. Gives me the heebie-jeebies just thinking about it!

My husband and I went to see Ryan Adams this past Sunday and it was a great show. Adams is pretty weird, but he may have just been very stoned. He played this as his encore, and I’ve been listening to it non-stop since.

I’ve been reading Wear No Evil: How to Change the World With Your Wardrobe after finding it in the new book display at the library. It’s about how terrible the fashion industry is on the environment, people, and animals and how you, as a consumer, can make better choices about what you put on your body. While I don’t know how much I’m going to change in regards to my shopping habits, this is still something that is important to be aware of. I seek out local, organic, and sustainable food; I’m concerned with the ingredients in my soaps, moisturizers, and make-up; and yet I’ll peruse The Gap or Joe Fresh or Zara without a thought to the child labour and/or the terrible pesticides that were used to grow the fibres and/or the toxic dye that was used to colour the fabric, etc.

I doubt I’ll have time to blog again before Thursday when we’re off to Morocco! I’ve scheduled some posts and can’t wait to catch up when I return.
Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

