Books, Books, Books

photo

I’ve read a few duds lately, but seem to be back into a good book groove. I read E. Lockhart’s young adult novel We Were Liars which was dark and poetic and fabulous. I just finished the beautiful and heartbreaking graphic novel This One Summer by Jillian and Mariko Tamaki (they also did Skim which is equally amazing), and now I am breezing through Lena Dunham’s very real and relatable memoir, Not That Kind of Girl.

Next up in the book cue is Francis Itani’s Tell, which has been shortlisted for the Giller prize (though I read two other shortlisted books – Us Conductors and The Girl Who Was Saturday Night – and they were both pretty disappointing). I’m also really looking forward to reading Molly Wizenberg’s Delancey: A Man, A Woman, A Restaurant, A Marriage as I’ve been reading her blog for years and I feel like we’re best friends. I’m also waiting to get The Portlandia Cookbook from the library, which looks sort of silly, but could be quite good.

Have you read anything good recently?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

