My New Daytimer

I’m quite particular when it comes to daytimers. I need one that’s not too big, but not too small; one that has a full month view and goes week to week; one that has enough space for me to write; one that has some note pages; and of course, one that is aesthetically pleasing. When I saw that powerhouse blog A Beautiful Mess was releasing a daytimer as part of their new online shop, I was intrigued. Their daytimer looked like it had everything I was looking for so I promptly ordered one.

This is what it looks like:

photo 1

It definitely fulfills the aesthetically pleasing category, however, there are a few things that I’m not too happy with.

First of all, I don’t think this daytimer is particularly well made. The cover is sturdy, but the corners are sloppy, like someone was messily gluing a sleeve onto a hard cover.

daytimer corner detail

Here is a close look at the corners. As you can see, they are already starting to come apart. I do not foresee this lasting well as I carry it in my bag all year.

The inside is generally nice, with the month view and week-by-week layout that I like. However, in the month view, the first column is for Monday, not Sunday, like I’m used to. Is this an American thing? I don’t know, but it is going to take some getting use to.

daytimer layout

awkward hand modelling r us

This daytimer comes with pages for notes and goals and some stickers. I like the stickers, but the ones on the left are really big (and I don’t know what I’d use most of them for) and I can’t see myself using the arrows all that much.

photo 3 copy

Overall, I’m just kind of so-so about this daytimer. Fingers crossed that it lasts a year!

Leave a Reply

