December Birchbox

photo

I was pretty excited when I heard Birchbox was coming to Canada and even more excited when Kevin gifted me a three month subscription. Here is what December’s box looked like.

Vasanti Cosmetics BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator. This is a facial exfoliator. I’ve used it a couple of times and don’t think it lives up to the claim of mimicking the effects of microdermabrasion, but it’s a scrub and does what it’s suppose to. I also like that it is paraben and sulfate free.

Harvey Prince Hello Body Cream. A cream with a cologne-y scent that is nice, but boy does it linger. Would not use this on any large body area for fear of projecting the scent into a ten foot radius for the whole day.

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner. A nice, basic, black eyeliner pencil. Goes on smooth and stays put throughout the day.

theBalm Staniac. This is meant to be a lip and cheek tint. While it looks fairly dark in the vial, it is extremely sheer. Like sheer to the point of invisible. On the lips, I had to apply layer after layer to get any colour. I also found that it was nearly impossible to get an even application and for a stain, it wore off really quickly. This product is slightly better on the cheeks, but still requires a lot of product to get any colour to show up. Pretty disappointing.

amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo. I haven’t tried this yet, but am excited to. I’ve wondered whether a dry shampoo will work on my curly hair and now I have the chance to try it out.

Overall, a pretty good first box. I’m excited to see what the next two months will bring.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “December Birchbox

  1. JustHayleyS says:

    I subscribe to Ipsy! I have never heard of Birchbox – I will make sure to go check it out 🙂

  2. […] tried these yet, but they have that same strong cologne-y scent that the hand lotion from the December box had. I’m sure they’ll work fine; I’ve never been wowed by a shampoo and […]

Leave a Reply

