(Mis)Adventures in Food Blogging, or, What I Brought Back from London (Ontario)

In my household, we like food. Kevin and I have developed a pretty impressive array of weekday meals and we’re constantly trying new recipes that we find on the internet or in our own collection of cookbooks. Needing to blog and stumped to find something to blog about, I decided I would try to write about this past Sunday’s dinner. We don’t eat a lot of meat at home, but when we do it is often in the form of ground turkey. We buy it from Friggs, a butcher shop just outside the city limits. They have their own farm and do not use antibiotics or growth hormones.

One of our standard weekday meals is cheese-stuffed turkey burgers. It’s a recipe we got from Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook My Father’s Daughter: Delicious, Easy Recipes Celebrating Family and Togetherness which I took out from the library when Kevin and I lived in London, Ontario. I was going to library school and we lived in a tiny apartment that was the upper floor of a house in a trendy, inner-city neighbourhood called Wortley Village. In this tiniest of apartments, our kitchen was basically the alcove between the living room and bathroom. It had a fridge, a stove, and about one square food of counter space beside the sink. I remember my Dad and step-Mom visiting us and we made these burgers and ate them in our equally tiny “dining room” which was, in reality, just the smaller half of our living room. These burgers are super delicious, really easy, and somewhat impressive in a wow-this-is-a-pretty-good-turkey-burger-WAIT-A-MINUTE-IS-THAT-CHEESE-OOZING-OUT sort of way.

When we left London, we abandoned most of our furniture (but that’s a whole other story), and drove back to Winnipeg with a car weighed down by things that were too important to throw out or ship via Greyhound and our cat who we snuck into hotel rooms in a well-practiced manoeuver we called “Operation: Hot Cat”. This recipe also came back with us.

These days, Kevin cooks the burgers on a cast-iron pan in the kitchen of our small house. He salts them well and they get this delicious sort of crunchy exterior. After cooking, he puts the sliced buns, cut side down, on the pan, and they sop up the “drippings” (which, unfortunately, there is not much of – turkey is very lean) and get nice and toasty.

With the aim of blogging this meal, I tried to get some in-progress photos and they were just terrible. I know that raw, ground poultry isn’t that photogenic to begin with (and an iPhone camera doesn’t help), but I’m sure someone more skilled in food styling could make this look at least somewhat good.

terrible photos of burger making

terrible photos of burger making

I was too busy (i.e. reading a book with the cat on my lap while the rest of the meal was being prepared (lemon potatoes and a Greekish salad), to take photos, and by the time all the components were made, it was dark and I was feeling disheartened from my earlier attempts to even try to take a picture of the finished product. Suffice it to say, it was delicious.

Tagged ,

One thought on “(Mis)Adventures in Food Blogging, or, What I Brought Back from London (Ontario)

  1. Natalye says:

    I should try this recipe! I like Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbooks

Leave a Reply

