The Week We Had to Boil Our Water, I Ate On a Frozen River, and I Was in the Newspaper

Holy smokes, have things been busy lately. Last week, we had to boil our water for two days due to E coli. I couldn’t get Starbucks and Oscar couldn’t drink from the tap, but other than that, it wasn’t too bad.

Last Wednesday, Kevin and I went to Raw: Almond, the pop-up restaurant on the frozen river. A chef from Montreal’s Joe Beef was cooking and there was SO MUCH MEAT. I wish I took more pictures, but here is one dish we had – a soft poached egg in consume jelly.

And last weekend I was in the newspaper for their weekly “On the Night Table” series. The book I talked about has seen a steep increase in the number of holds placed on it at the library!

Hope your last week and a bit was good! Did you get up to anything exciting?

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “The Week We Had to Boil Our Water, I Ate On a Frozen River, and I Was in the Newspaper

  1. libys11 says:

    omg!! i can’t wait to go to Raw:Almond (Im going on Feb 9!). Congrats on the newspaper feature!! 😀

    Animated Confessions

  2. apockylypse says:

    I’ve always wanted to try a pop up restaurant, but I need to get over my picky eating habits first. Sounds like you had a pretty eventful week!

  3. Jen Letts says:

    Congrats on the article!
    So the restaurant is called Raw:Almond but they do heat the food apparently?

    • tobyann says:

      Yes, food is heated! Don’t know where the “raw” comes from, but the whole thing is organized by a local chef who has a restaurant called “Deer and Almond”.

Leave a Reply

