(Mis)Adventures in Food Blogging Part 2

Let’s talk about kale for a bit, shall we? I know, I know, it’s so trendy, and you likely already have a strong opinion of it that falls into the love or hate category. I was in the latter for a long time, my sole experience of kale being some very bitter, crumbly kale chips. Then one night, I went to my sister-in-law’s and had this kale salad. I had no idea you could eat kale raw and this salad was a total revelation.

My food photography is getting better, though wait until you see the other picture to congratulate me....

My food photography is getting better, though wait until you see the other picture to congratulate me….

If you don’t want to watch the seven minute video, it pretty much boils down to this. Wash and dry kale. Cut kale into ribbons and put in a bowl. Add olive oil, lemon juice, and salt and then massage that kale. This is where the magic happens. The kale loses serious volume here, transforming from its tough nearly inedible state to something that still has a good chew, but is much softer and more digestable. Add chopped red pepper, kalamata olives, and pine nuts and you’re done.

This salad is a perfect accompaniment to those carb-heavy, cheesy meals that seem to be a staple of winter time. Another bonus? Because kale is so dense, even when dressed, this salad keeps super well in the fridge. We like making a big batch and then eating it throughout the week.

This is the only picture I have of the finished product, taken in my car, as I scarfed this down between work and my Tuesday evening class.

This is the only picture I have of the finished product, taken in my car, as I scarfed this down between work and my Tuesday evening class.

Are you a lover or hater of kale?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

