February Birchbox

Here’s what I got in my last and final Birchbox:

  • Harvey Prince Hello Shampoo and Conditioner. I haven’t tried these yet, but they have that same strong cologne-y scent that the hand lotion from the December box had. I’m sure they’ll work fine; I’ve never been wowed by a shampoo and conditioner.
  • Cynthia Rowley Beauty Creamy Lip Stain – Heartthrob. I’ve been searching for the perfect red lip colour for my fair yellow-undertoned skin, and I think this might be it. It’s a gorgeous tomatoey colour in a really comfortable formula. It’s a bit sheer, but can be built up quite easily. Doesn’t really stain the lips, but lasts a good amount of time if you’re not eating or drinking.
  • theBalm cosmetics Cindy-Lou Manizer. A beautiful pink highlight in the cutest packaging.
  • derma e Anti-Wrinkle Vitamin A Glycolic Scrub. Haven’t used this yet as I’m still using the scrub from the December box, but I’m sure it’ll be just another facial scrub.
Swatches of the Cynthia Rowley lip stain and theBalm highlighter.

Swatches of the Cynthia Rowley lip stain and theBalm highlighter.

Overall thoughts on Birchbox

It was fun getting a little surprise in the mail every month, but subscription services like this are to try new products and brands and in only three months, there was a lot of duplicates. In three boxes I got:

  • 2 hand creams
  • 2 facial scrubs
  • 2 lip tints (and 1 lipstick)
  • 3 products from Harvey Prince
  • 2 products from theBalm
  • 2 products from Cynthia Rowley

This just isn’t enough variety. I will not be continuing my subscription.

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “February Birchbox

  1. Marissa says:

    i haven’t subscribed to any “boxes” yet myself. There hasn’t been one that seemed worth it enough, but if I did it would probably be a crafty one. Have you seen the ones offered by A Beautiful Mess? Stationary and craft supplies, it’s interesting. Anyway, I found you through Daring Creative, I look forward to reading more of you posts!

    • tobyann says:

      I did see the Beautiful Mess subscription boxes, and I like stationary, but don’t know if I need that much of it in my life. I might try Petit Vour or Naturebox next.

  2. Mandy says:

    I really love the idea of subscription boxes, but I feel like they often fail in implementation. I have always been interested in Birch box, but I’m not sure I need that much similar stuff. I appreciate you being honest with this review!

  3. Thanks for sharing your review- I didn’t know they were in Canada! (I always assume nothing is lol) It does look like a lot of the same kind of products. I think I’ll pass! Now naturebox… That’s one that I think I might need to pull the trigger on 🙂

    • tobyann says:

      I had no idea Naturebox was in Canada! I might need to check that one out. I’m also tempted by Petit Vour, which is like Birchbox, but is all natural/green beauty/skin care products. So many subscription boxes, so little time (and money).

Leave a Reply

