Lemon Water and Yoga

For the last 12 days, I’ve been doing something new…

I’ve been starting everyday with a glass of lemon water and yoga. The former was inspired by Joy McCarthy’s book Joyous Health. According to her, drinking lemon water first thing in the morning helps cleanse and alkalize the body, increases bile (in a good way!), and clears your skin.ย ย I don’t know about all that stuff, but I have come to enjoy starting everyday with a burst of hydration.

Following my lemon water, is yoga. I’ve been so lax in the exercise department since my knee injury (which I am currently in physiotherapy for) and have been craving some way of moving my body that doesn’t aggravate my knee. I found this wonderful 30 days of yoga YouTube series and have been faithfully doing it every single day. It is a good mix of relaxing and challenging, movement and stillness, and the instructor, Adriene, is super cute and personable.

Starting my days this way has been such a wonderful ritual that sets a positive tone for the whole day. Do you do have any feel-good morning rituals?
Tagged , ,

9 thoughts on “Lemon Water and Yoga

  1. libys11 says:

    oohhh.. clear skin with lemon water? i definitely need that! the good thing is i do drink water every single moment i wake up so now all i need is to go get a bunch of lemons!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Have a great week!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Animated Confessions

  2. Julie Fiandt says:

    What a lovely ritual and thoughtful post. Last year, I worked with a health coach and was drinking a glass of water first thing in the morning. The habit fell away, but you’ve inspired me to try again. The lemon definitely adds an invigorating and nourishing quality to water–making it more of a ritual than just a habit!

  3. Sieb says:

    I do the lemon water thing, and would love to get back into yoga.. I’ll be checking out those 30 days of yoga videos, thanks!

  4. knittedhome says:

    Currently my routine starts with a groggy wake up to my daughter babbling over the monitor + hubby kissing me goodbye (he’s pretty talented at getting ready without waking us) on his way to work. I get her changed, nursed, dressed + get myself dressed for the day then it’s downstairs for some scrambled eggs (Gordon Ramsay style via YouTube) + Daniel Tiger before naptime (if it’s in the stars). Naptime = blog / etsy / creative time so it is my favorite part of the day (minus those beautiful “good morning, mommy!” smiles).
    I miss my three mornings a week spin classes that used to be my routine before baby, but maybe this post is the kick I need to get back into the habit. The best feeling is hopping off that bike after an hour + the invincible positivity it brings to the rest of the day is addicting. You just might have convinced me to try lemon water now…

  5. Hannelene says:

    Hmmm… we can’t find lemon around here. The limes are wonderful though – small key-lime looking and yellow-green with abundant juice. I’m going to have to check out that yoga.

  6. Holly says:

    My day usually starts with the dog diving into bed with me when my husband lets her out of her kennel before he goes to work. Once she drives me absolutely crazy I drag myself out of bed and pull something appropriate on to take her outside. After that I make breakfast for the kids, check my e-mail while they eat, then we all get ready for the day. Like the commenter above, nap time is my favourite part of the day ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

