Face Serums

I often wonder if face serums are worth their expensive price tag. Supposedly, they are a crucial component of a skincare routine packed with anti-aging ingredients that keep your skin looking young. However, because they are generally touted as offering long-term results, it’s hard to justify spending lots of money on products that don’t seem to be doing much on a day-to-day basis.

In my case, I do usually spend more on serums than other products. I figure why spend a fortune on a cleanser that is going to be rinsed off in a minute or a toner that is just going to evaporate off my skin? If serums do what they claim, then where is my credit card?

(I’m not too concerned with going all natural when it comes to serums – you want some powerful anti-aging action, you’re going to need some chemicals.)

Though skincare gurus tell you to use a serum in the morning and evening, because they are expensive, I only use them in the evening. I cleanse, spritz on some rosewater, and while my skin is still damp, I apply a bit of serum. I’ve been alternating between two as of late:

Neither seems to be doing much for my skin in the short-term, besides providing some extra moisture. Ask me again in 25 years.

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Face Serums

  1. haha fair. I’ve been doing argan oil recently and it’s hard to tell what it’s accomplishing. I have some rose hip oil from now foods that was around $5 – is there a reason the Pai is so much more expensive?

    • tobyann says:

      From the website: “Rosehip BioRegenerate™ is unique in containing concentrated fruit hip oil, with double the regenerative sterols and five times the carotenoids of seed oil. Premium CO2 supercritical extraction delivers the complete and concentrated properties of the plant. This makes Pai Rosehip BioRegenerate™ far more powerful than simple cold pressed Rosehip seed oils.”
      Could all be BS…though I know that essential oils really vary in quality as there is no regulation.

      • I know it’s really hard to tell! I recently sat through a lecture on one brand of essential oils that spent so much time bashing other brands… by the time it was done I had no interest in it!

Leave a Reply

